free verse

Swing Me Higher

There’s a pink toddler swing
Hanging from the twisting oak
Perfect for a two-year-old

Push me higher 
Push me higher
She sings
I want to touch the leaves
Swing me higher 
Swing me higher
She grasps the bright green leaf

Someday she will have bigger dreams
Of bigger things than leaves
She will fly to them too
And hold them close
She’ll see her dreams come true

She will always swing
With a gentle smile and twinkling eyes
Her young heart soaring through the bright blue sky

Standard

Leave a Reply

