free verse

Ideas

Ideas
They come from beyond me
And overtake me

They dance in my head
And twirl in my heart
And make me do cartwheels in the yard

They make me skip
And jump
And run away
To find the nearest pen and paper
And start to scribble

Ideas
Bursting in my head
Like fireworks
Growing in my heart
From a tiny seed
Into something bigger
Bigger than I’d dreamed

Ideas
They live inside me
But when I give them wings
They fly away
They change
They become a different melody
In someone else’s heart

Ideas 
They long for freedom
So give them wings
Let them soar through the sky
And find a new home

Let them brave the darkness
Like the stars

Let them bring beauty
Like the spring

Ideas
Let them live

Let them sing

Standard

Leave a Reply

