free verse, Rhyme

Yesterday

Yesterday
My heart was heavy
It pulled me to the ground
Stained knees
In the dirt
Muttered words
Broken thoughts
How could I pray?
When a prayer seemed so small
Compared to the vastness of the unknown
Compared to the infinite sky between
You and me

I am dust
And dust can’t speak
So I opened Your book
And Your book spoke for me

Your words spoke light
Let there be
And light pierced the darkness
And composed a symphony

Stars and planets
Land and sea
They are all still singing
Holy, Holy
Yahweh,
Almighty
Who was and is
And is to come

I am dust
And dust can’t speak

I am fragile
And I am weak

Come and breathe life into me
And I will be
Forever Yours
Forever free

Standard

Leave a Reply

