Rhyme

100 Years

She opens her eyes
Enough to see
And grasps my hand
And looks at me

I tell her
“I love you”
What else can I say?
100 years
Leads to today
So few to hug her
And feel her pain

She’s fought to live
So strong she’s stayed
The stories she’s told me
Of memories made
She squeezes my hand
In her stubborn way
Yet the light
Is gone
From her face

Soon she’ll see
That heavenly gate
And be welcomed by
God’s loving embrace
For now 
I can only
Hold her hand and pray
100 years
Leads to today

There’s beauty
In the morning

Standard

Leave a Reply

