free verse

Faded Papers

Words typed
Over 50 years ago
On faded papers
Worn by time
Carry me back to
Before I was alive
Show me the heritage
That came before me
The legacy of faith & devotion
The prayers my great-grandma prayed
The testimony that she gave
My heart is touched
By the way she crafts each sentence
Did she ever know
That her great-granddaughter
Would hear these words?
Did she ever dream 
That they would touch my heart so?
This family treasure
Stowed away for years
Comes to life again
In my heart
Reminding me that the past
Is a part of the present
And the future is yet to be written

Standard

9 thoughts on “Faded Papers

  1. As God’s Word speaks to our hearts today, certainly what we ‘mere mortals’ write can have powerful impact on others in the future. It is such a discipline to organize our thoughts and commit them to print, but it can actually be a form of evangelism and encouragement to fellow believers. Thank you for your truly lovely poetry.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Faded Papers – Trust, Hope, & Vision

Leave a Reply

